Posted by: feltface | October 10, 2011

Send Out Your Roots

“But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” – Jeremiah 17:7-8

The verse above is one that has been repeatedly shared with me recently, both at work and through friends. It’s possible that I may be this tree, who’s literally been planted by the water twice in my life, and in both places, challenged to put out my roots while growing spiritually and emotionally in communities that were rich with nutrients and fertilizer for growth.

In South Florida, we naturally have an abundance of palm trees. Before I came to Miami, I received an e-mail reminding the future volunteers to be flexible like the palm trees, who despite terribly powerful hurricanes, remain standing by enduring incredible stress and bending with the winds. While living here, I’ve been learning more about these hearty trees. Palm trees are constantly shedding their outer layers in order to grow. As they grow, the rings around the outside of the trunk increase in number, showing their age outwardly. Unlike many other trees, palm trees bear fruit in all seasons. In Psalm 92:12-15, it says “The righteous will flourish like a palm tree, they will grow like a cedar of Lebanon; planted in the house of the Lord, they will flourish in the courts of our God. They will still bear fruit in old age, they will stay fresh and green, proclaiming, “The Lord is upright; he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in him.”

I pray that I remember to bend and sway with the winds of the world while continuing to shed my outer layers as I grow. As I grow, may I continue to share the wisdom I obtain through each year. Finally, may I be reminded to bear the fruits of His labor in every season of life.

Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing your wisdom. The palm tree is indeed an apt symbol/metaphor or whatever you want to call it. This is the first time I happened onto your blog. Saw the link off Bush Hill’s page. I’ll have to read more. Grace & Peace

  2. And may you always be careful on whom you drop your coconuts :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

